Promoting Candlelight Dinners in India: A Political Satire

[This political satire refers to the day of power grid failure in the country. The comments made in the article are fictitious.]

A candlelight dinner on a pleasant summer evening; romantic, isn’t it? Well, that’s exactly what the Government of India thought when it officially enforced such dinners throughout the northern half of the country on the night of 29th July.

Technically termed as electricity blackout, the candlelight dinners,according to the government officials were “improvised” to promote family bonding and cultural values.

“At a time when children spend hours in front of electronic screens and parents are busy with daily chores, it’s our duty to get the family together. And so we intentionally forced the blackout”, said an official.

On being asked why the blackout happened only in North India, the representative answered, “Our party doesn’t discriminate India on regional basis. The blackout area was randomly chosen. Our message to the rest of the citizens is not to worry, the blackouts will be held on a national scale, and on a frequent basis.”

Reacting to the government’s justification, the netizens in India trended hashtags#WeWantElectricity,#blackoutIndia, and #epicfailure on the micro blogging website.

“I hope we have a year-long blackout in the Parliament. Let there be harmony among the senators #blackoutIndia”, tweeted @AamAadmi

Rising to the occasion were parody accounts of Home Ministry and Electricity Department, the most popular being M0HIndia @MinistryOfHomeAffairs. The account had a million subscribers within a few hours, notable among which were the subscriptions of the opposition ministers.

Unable to digest the harsh criticism, the government launched an official complaint with twitter to block the parody accounts.
“We have requested the concerned authority to take down such users as they spread a wrong message in the public. As a precautionary measure, we are requesting our followers to trend #MOHIndiaRocksand #BlackoutForHarmony on twitter”, said a ruling party spokesperson.

The opposition on the other hand was seen bashing the government. “This move is a promotion of the candlelight dining facilities available at ministry owned hotels and restaurants. The government is bluffing the citizens. We need to have a CBI inquiry on this.”

Rubbishing the remarks of the opposition were the comments from ‘teesramorcha’ (the third wing). 
“Government has done the right thing. Such blackouts boost equality among the rich and the poor“, addressed their leader to the media.

Banking on high TRPs generated by the issue, media persons were tirelessly covering the event. ”Aamadmi faces the blackout burden. Electricity shortage rocks North India”, read the headline on a prime time news show.

Various other news channels showed exclusive footage of people trapped in the electricity net. ”Look here!! This man is forced to get a haircut under candlelight”, reported a correspondent.

In certain other parts of the country the situation was even worse. In New Delhi people got stranded in the Metro and were then forced to dine on the train floor by the officials. Special candles were lit for the occasion. As per the government, it was the best display of communal harmony.

At the end of the day, the power ministry released an official statement, “This blackout achieved a large scale success and we plan to organize more such events in near future.”

About Arjun Tuli

Founder @ stayonskill.com Passionate about making a positive impact in this world. Solving third world problems.

25 responses to “Promoting Candlelight Dinners in India: A Political Satire

  1. Often like the giveaways posts concerning the normal posts!

  2. Extremely interesting! Many thanks for your examine. -Tom

  3. Hello. Very nice website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to find so much useful info here within the article. Thank you for sharing..

  4. Hello. Very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to find numerous helpful information right here in the article. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Good day. Very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also…I am happy to locate numerous useful information here in the post. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Hi there, I discovered your site via Google while looking for a related topic, your web site got here up, it appears great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  7. I view something truly special in this site.

  8. I totally concur with what you are saying eventhough this post is not suit to new WP 🙂

  9. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  10. Nice one! I will share some of your ideas and info to my colleagues… hope it’s fine! =)

  11. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!. “Everybody likes to go their own way–to choose their own time and manner of devotion.”

  12. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  13. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. However think about if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could undeniably be one of the very best in its field. Superb blog!

  14. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great blog!

  15. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  16. Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, regards.

  17. You are a very capable person!

  18. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  19. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

  20. I love your writing style genuinely enjoying this internet site. “Men do less than they ought, unless they do all that they can.” by Thomas Carlyle.

  21. Its excellent as your other blog posts :D, thanks for putting up.

  22. I want to start a blog written by a fictitious character commenting on politics, current events, news etc..How?.

  23. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  24. This is an extremely practical presentation that gives great examples of how to engage people in executing the plan. I found this very insightful. Well done and thank you.

  25. I have saved this web-page and I truly intend on visiting the site in the upcoming days.

Leave a Reply

