Battlefield Twitter

Governing in silence for the past six years, the Prime Minister Office-India suddenly voiced itself (ironical to term “Prime Minister”, which has, over a period time become synonymous to the phrase “dead silence”) on the popular 140 word social networking website – twitter, only to realize that it’s impact has been way too large, larger than the popularity of the Office itself – thanks to some “#cattle class” networkers running parody accounts of the PM Office.

The Government, fearing misinterpretation of such accounts or more reasonably, unable to digest the harsh criticism, had filed an application with twitter in June this year. Perhaps, justified in its approach, given that the esteemed citizens of this country had failed to interpret the real faces of their parliamentary representatives during the general elections.

Refusing to give in to the illogical demand of the Government of India, the social networking site didn’t respond back, teasing the Supreme to resort to its countless power. And so it did. Hiding behind the exodus of the North-Eastern citizens, the government shut down the six ‘misleading’ accounts by ordering the Internet Service Providers (ISP) to block their profiles URLs.

Although, we all agree to the fact that there are certain websites and some content over the internet that promotes communal disharmony and needs to be dealt with stiffly, but everything else that criticizes the government can’t be made a goat. This is no China, for god sake.

Damning the government for its arrogant attitude, the rest of the netizens are seen taking on the corrupt class (political power-heads) by offensively tweeting against them. The hashtags #goiblocks, #emergency2012 and #indiablocks have been trending over the internet.

To quote, some of the tweets read as:
“The worst hate speech was made not on social media but in Parliament by Owaisi. While he is still on twitter, others gagged” @jitengajaria
“At the stroke of the midnight hour as Indians slept, world awoke to censorship” @MsWeera
“Rabid right-winger PM0India a) gets to become a martyr and b) will re-appear and start hate-tweeting from another account.” @DilliDurAst

Meanwhile, justifying their high-headedness, a PMO official was quoted as saying, “We are fine with parody, even though at times it is in bad taste, and there is criticism of the government. But we can not allow anyone to misrepresent the PM’s office and tweet nonsense from these accounts”.

Well, Sir, all I fear is of the day when the name of every other netizen starts appearing to you as that of PM Manmohan Singh. If only you could bring down the internet on that day.

The public sentiment is pretty evident – people feel disgusted by the brazenness of the government. The officials must try and understand that for running the country, they need to feed the so called cattle class; which these days does not eat the long political speeches, but an uncensored internet.

P.S. – This latest cyber restriction by the government in the wake of social media uprising, has only jeopardized its already deteriorated public image #RIPCensorship.

About Arjun Tuli

Founder @Learnifi.com Die hard entrepreneur. Passionate about making a positive impact in this world. Solving third world problems. Trying to make lives of millions of people better.

22 responses to “Battlefield Twitter

  1. I’ve learned many important things via your post.

  2. You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I to find this topic to be really one thing that I believe I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely extensive for me. I am looking forward on your next publish, I’ll attempt to get the dangle of it!

  3. yippee your blog is absolutely great. I just came here to say that I have a great website too that you should check out. I’ve learnt lots of good information from your site and have updated my domain accordingly.

  4. Amazing news I just saved your blog many times in multiple sources. I wish you the best of wealth cus you’re beautiful!

  5. Can’t believe that I haven’t found your site earlier than this. So far, I’ve read through 9 articles and have found them all to be unique. I’d like to personally say thank you. I wish that you can keep writing worthwhile posts. I’ve saved this post for later use and added your rss to my list. Thank you.

  6. Amazing news I just rss feed your blog many times in multiple domains. I wish you the best of wealth cus you’re brilliant!

  7. Amazing news I just rss feed your blog many times in multiple sites. I wish you the best of wealth cus you’re brilliant!

  8. Amazing site I just bookmarked your blog many times in multiple sources. I wish you the best of luck cus you’re brilliant!

  9. Hello. Very nice blog!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I’m happy to locate numerous helpful information right here in the post. Thank you for sharing…

  10. Whats up. Very cool site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also…I am glad to locate so much useful info right here within the post. Thank you for sharing..

  11. Thans for your distinctive perpective. It was pretty great to study your post

  12. Hiya. Very nice web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to locate so much useful info right here within the post. Thank you for sharing.

  13. Here are a few valuable points in time in this content but I do not sense if I witness all of them center to heart. there is one or more validity but I will take hold all the way I look into it further. Excellent content , thanks and we want ever more! added to FeedBurner as well. Anyway, may I copy and paste it to my blog sites ?

  14. Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thank you Nonetheless I’m experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting equivalent rss problem? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  15. What a great piece of graphic net style we have right here I really like what you’ve been doing thanks for sharing

  16. Many thanks.
    A very superior article, with an informative view on gaining valuable traffic using Squidoo.

  17. Wo-o-ow! Astounding works!!)) Many thanks for share!

  18. Great ideas on making the law of attraction work, which is almost always the sticking point people get.

  19. This is a great website, would you be involved in doing an interview regarding just how you created it? If so e-mail me!

  20. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  21. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

