With malice towards fellow citizens

They say we are rising and shining, ready to dominate the world in years to come.
But, are we? Well, here I don’t question the sinking GDP or tainted politicians. I question the esteemed citizens of my country. Are we ready to take on the global powers?
No, perhaps not; not even with all the intellect we have. Why? Because we live in a society blotted by social stigmas.
We wear trendy clothes; walk away in flashy shoes; and say we are aping the west. My dear countrymen, becoming fashionable doesn’t make us American, but stepping out of the cocoon of our narrow minded thoughts indeed makes us a gentleman. Our society today is marred by acts of domestic violence; caste based discrimination, religion based discrimination, honour killings, child abuse and female foeticide.
A four year old girl is raped by her father and police SHO questions the morals of her traumatized mother. A 10 year old kid is asked to drink her own urine as a punishment of bed-wetting. A young couple is awarded capital punishment by the ‘all supreme’ khap panchayat in honour of their love. These aren’t rare happenings limited to the underdeveloped regions of our country, they happen all over ‘the incredible’ India; even in the hi-fi posh societies. That aunty that lives next door might just be another woman scarred by acts of domestic violence. That kid who wears a sad look over his face, might just be another minor humiliated by sexual violence. Going by the statistics published by Ministry of Women and Child Development in 2007, 53.22% of children reported being sexually abused, among them 52.94% being boys.
Shocking, isn’t it??
Well, we need to take firm actions against such barbaric acts; we need to do more than mere candle light marches, more than those debates on news channels, more than just writing such blogs, more than just raising an eyebrow.
We got to rise in unison and change our attitude; change the way khap panchayats dictate the lives of people. We need to ape the real west.
But How?
Stringent Laws?? It’s not the only answer. Along with stern laws, we need to change the general mind-set of the people – change our patriarchal society; encourage people to speak out, to come out of social restrictions. It really doesn’t matter what your neighbours think. What does matter is will you be able to live a life jeopardized by the assaults of your husband?
Stand up against the injustice. Speak out. Raise your voice.

Let’s end this ‘chalta hai’ attitude.

About Arjun Tuli

Founder @Learnifi.com Die hard entrepreneur. Passionate about making a positive impact in this world. Solving third world problems. Trying to make lives of millions of people better.

32 responses to “With malice towards fellow citizens

  1. Fantastic article. I appreciate your attention to this subject and I learned a great deal 228889

  2. well, kind of interesting post, thank you.http://www.papajogosmario.com

  3. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  4. This sounds in a way inflammatory pending mecant wait for thisthank you! 256023

  5. I cannot thank you fully for the blogposts on your web page. I know you placed lots of time and effort into all of them and hope you know how considerably I appreciate it. I hope I will do precisely the same for an additional individual at some point. Palm Beach Condos 429631

  6. Outstanding post, I feel weblog owners need to larn a whole lot from this weblog its actually user genial . 526828

  7. Good 1, there is truly some excellent facts on this post some of my subscribers may possibly locate this valuable, will send them a link, several thanks. 839325

  8. secure document storage

    This internet internet site could be a walk-through for all with the details you wanted in regards to this and didnt know who to question. Glimpse here, and you will surely discover it. 717132

  9. so considerably wonderful data on here, : D. 899755

  10. This is interestingly just the thing I’ve been rummaging for! Excellent and cheers!

  11. Some truly nice stuff on this web site , I it. 71201

  12. No more s . All posts of this qaulity from now on 352872

  13. Thank you for your style connected with motive though this info is certain location a new damper within the sale with tinfoil hats. 691427

  14. Greeting from across the ocean. Great blog I shall return for more.

  15. I conceive this web site contains some rattling superb details for every person : D. 116063

  16. Wow, cool post. Id like to write like this too – taking time and real effort to make a great article but I procrastinate too a lot and never seem to get started. Thanks though. 130156

  17. Thanks for your your content – really interesting. We love our Kindle and the best site for tips and tricks is coolkindles.

  18. Having read this I thought it was very informative. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this article together. I once again find myself spending way to much time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

  19. Your writing style implies you know a whole lot concerning this subject. Keep up the outstanding job, I definitely enjoy checking out your posts.

  20. This is a very good tips especially to those new to blogosphere, brief and accurate information… Thanks for sharing this one. A must read article.

  21. My husband and i ended up being really more than happy when Raymond managed to finish off his web research because of the precious recommendations he was given from your very own web pages. It is now and again perplexing to simply happen to be making a gift of ideas that many many others could have been trying to sell. And we also fully grasp we have the website owner to be grateful to for that. The specific illustrations you made, the simple web site navigation, the friendships you will make it easier to engender – it is all awesome, and it is helping our son and our family know that the concept is fun, and that is exceptionally serious. Thanks for everything!

  22. Youre so awesome, man! I cant believe I missed this blog for so long. Its just great stuff all round. Your design, man…too amazing! I cant wait to read what youve got next. I love everything that youre saying and want more, more, MORE! Keep this up, man! Its just too good.

  23. I’m impressed, I have to say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve gotten hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the issue is something that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very glad that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing relating to this.

  24. Hi this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  25. It is nice to definitely dig up a website where the blogger is clever. Thanks for creating your blog.

  26. I much like the priceless facts you give you inside of your content.I’ll bookmark your blog site and take a look at again below consistently.I’m somewhat sure I will learn about loads of latest things best suited the following! Fantastic luck for your subsequent!

Leave a Reply

